Chromium (and Google Chrome) on Windows provide a way for third parties to trigger a reset flow the next time a Chromium profile is opened by the user.
The reset flow will prompt the user to reset their settings to the built-in default state of the browser when it was first installed on the system.
This mechanism is intended to be used by third parties implementing clean up tools who wish to provide a way to prompt a user to clean their settings. If the user accepts the prompt, then their homepage, new tab page and search engine will be set back to factory defaults, all of their extensions will be disabled (though not removed) and all pinned tabs will be unpinned.
The prompt the user receives will look like this:
Chromium on Windows exposes the triggered profile reset API through the registry, a place that is easy and convenient for a third party Windows tool to write to.
To use the triggered reset flow, the third party tool will :
The above steps should be performed for the user profile hive (e.g. under HKCU) of all users on the system the tool wishes to reset.
On Profile creation, Chromium will inspect the timestamp and if different from the persisted value, it will notify the user and trigger a profile reset flow. This will be done for each profile that is created.
To avoid resetting future new Profiles, when a Profile is first created any timestamp currently present in the registry will be copied in without a reset.
The reset UI flow is per-profile, so a user with multiple Chromium/Chrome profiles will see multiple reset prompts.
For Developers >